Cross the finish line with a Crème Brûlée…


…and then go on a diet, that’s my plan for the coming weeks or so. Have a look at the version of the world famous French signature dessert I had tonight:

Cream, egg yolks, sugar, vanilla: Crème Brûlée.

I know, I know, here it looks more like an oxtail soup, so please use your imagination to sense the sweet thing, crunchy on top (because of melted caster sugar crystals), creamy below the surface, very creamy, sinfully creamy! And once you start eating, it’s like breaking an icy crust and then dive head on into a sticky pudding…believe me: a real Crème Brûlée even sounds great!

But how to detect a real one? The “undisputed Queen of Crème Brûlée”, Debbie Puente, has published what she calls a “classic” recipe on www.cremebrulee.com. But how could you trust her? She’s using “vanilla extract” which disqualifies her efforts right away. Yet you can obviously do whatever you want with the French classic. I’ve found traces of a Wasabi Crème Brûlée served in Mumbai, India. I’ve seen recipes with Avocados à la Brazil, with foie gras, with white pepper, with chocolate and chili and even a vegan variation (without eggs and cream, good luck..).

Do I have my own secret recipe? Nope. I only eat it in restaurants.

Leave a Reply

