J’aime Paris au mois de mai…


…after two weeks of travelling in South Africa I’m back, and I’m tempted to say: finally. Weather is worse, yes, temperatures are lower, light is somewhat pale compared to sparkling Africa. Yet I’m happy: the silver & sand colours of the streets and roofs and buildings let me rejoice, the silly honking of stressed Parisians make me smile, the beauty of the pâtisseries, the sound and taste of fresh baguette seems like a dream, and all my hero butchers are still here. Have been to Marché Aligre today, my favourite market. Had lunch nearby, at La Gazetta, and everything felt very good, at ease, at home. Forgive me to say this but Paris is the best place in the world. Well, forgive me, I’m biased.

The beauty and the loo: detail of "La Gazetta" in Paris.

One comment

Leave a Reply

