Sowing for summer: Home-grown herbs


Plant your own herbs, and if it was only for visual pleasures.

Plant your own herbs, and if it was only for visual pleasures.

Now is the winter of our discontent made glorious summer by these pots of herbs…well, I know that this is impossible and I apologize for paraphrasing Shakespeare in such a

Herbs, potting soil: it doesn't need a lot to enhance your life all year long.

Herbs, potting soil: it doesn’t need a lot to enhance your life all year long.

mundane way. Yet today was the first warm and sunny day in Paris (and the whole of France) in a very long time and I got my hands dirty while planting the aromatic herbs I will need as a cook in the months to come. So please forgive my poetic enthusiasm.

What I want to share with you today is this: Why would you buy expensive bunches of rosemary, thyme, mint or basil at your “gourmet” store or greengrocer’s over and over again – when you can invest once (we’re talking about penny stocks!) and have a stable herb supply throughout the year?

Herbes3That’s what I’ve done today: I bought the above mentioned herbs, a bag of potting soil – and off I went planting right away. It really isn’t rocket science and you can see the quite beautiful result: a kitchen garden on the window sill. It’s a rite,Herbes4 kind of a salutation of springtime: it’ll add flavor, depth, edge and the very welcome mediterranean twist to the many meals to come (Did you know that the aroma of sage, which I will plant soon, is a miraculous play of 700 different components? No kidding!)

Anyway. What I’ll have in my kitchen from now on, while cooking, of course, is the illusion of a tiny garden in the heart of Paris. And that is priceless.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

